Walt Disney World manager is attempting to take away Florida employees rights granted to them by the state of Florida.    U.S. District Judge Robert Hinkle ruled that employers cannot ban employees from taking their gun to work, but may ban customers and other visitors. 
 

Details of this law:  http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0700-0799/0790/Sections/0790.251.html

Contact this manager by email and/or telephone, be professional, be courteous, do not threaten or curse but be firm. 

Explain the law to this person that even though Disney is very large (might be the US's largest single site employer), that they can not take away someone's legal rights, especially rights that are for self defense in the cesspool of many areas of Orlando with its high crime rates and aggressive drivers (especially on Interstate 4).  

Explain to him that just as the City of Chicago and Washington D.C. tried to take away people's rights too and these cities were proved wrong and had to change to abide by the law as pointed out to them by the U.S. Supreme court twice.  

Disney has to abide by the law too, as pointed out to this manager in this email exchange.

 

From: kellyitjobs@comcast.net <kellyitjobs@comcast.net>
Sent: Monday, April 01, 2019 8:09 AM
To: 'Ocock, Trevor R.' <Trevor.R.Ocock@disney.com>
Subject: Last message for now.

Last message for now.    The Florida lawmakers gave us the right to have a gun in our car going to work, not as a guest, but to our employers parking lot.   The company can not even ask us about a gun in our car.   The company can not make a rule to prevent us from keeping our gun in our car BECAUSE there is a law in Florida.  Please read the law. 

From: kellyitjobs@comcast.net <kellyitjobs@comcast.net>
Sent: Thursday, March 28, 2019 10:32 PM
To: 'Ocock, Trevor R.' <Trevor.R.Ocock@disney.com>
Subject: RE: You made a mistake in a meeting for us bus drivers

Disney and a union can not take away our rights given to us by the 2nd amendment and FL Lawmakers.    I will hate to have to sue you personally because your emails are going to be published with the NRA and other groups!!!!!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: Ocock, Trevor R. <Trevor.R.Ocock@disney.com>
Sent: Thursday, March 28, 2019 4:45 PM
To: kellyitjobs@comcast.net
Subject: RE: You made a mistake in a meeting for us bus drivers

Hello-

Weapons are not permitted on company property.  Feel free to refer to the Collective Bargaining Agreement between Management and Union, specifically, Article 18, Section 7m.

Please see your leader or Proprietor with any additional questions.  If you are not satisfied with those conversations, you may make an appointment to see me.

Trevor

Trevor R. Ocock
General Manager, Transportation Operations
Walt Disney World Parks and Resorts
Mail:  P.O. Box 10,000 | Lake Buena Vista, Florida  32830

Shipping:  1220 Seven Seas Drive | Lake Buena Vista, Florida  32830

Phone: 407.824.5963 | Fax: 407.824.7542
E-mail:
trevor.r.ocock@disney.com | www.disney.com

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: kellyitjobs@comcast.net [mailto:kellyitjobs@comcast.net]
Sent: Wednesday, March 27, 2019 11:23 PM
To: Ocock, Trevor R. <Trevor.R.Ocock@disney.com>
Subject: RE: You made a mistake in a meeting for us bus drivers

No response?   Are you going to try to tell us again this “fake news” that we can not keep a gun in our own car on Disney’s employee (not inside parks), but outside parks in or near the regular guest parking lot.      The more I think about it, the more I wonder why you said what you did because clearly you are wrong?   I went over the law and over it and over it and Disney is NOT exempt in any way.    Are you ultra-left liberal like Hilary Clinton calling over half the country “Deplorable”?

DISNEY IS NOT EXEMPT BECAUSE HERE IS THE LIST OF THOSE THAT ARE EXEMPT FROM THE LAW ALLOWING US TO BRING THE GUN IN OUR CAR TO WORK?

Exceptions: The law does not apply to:

Schools;

Correctional institutions;

Nuclear power plants;

Property upon which substantial activities involving national defense, aerospace, or homeland security are conducted;

Property upon which the primary business conducted is the manufacture, use, storage, or transportation of combustible or explosive materials regulated under state or federal law, or importing, manufacturing, or dealing in explosive materials;

A motor vehicle owned, leased, or rented by a public or private employer or the landlord of a public or private employer;

Property upon which possession of a firearm or other legal product by a customer, employee, or invitee is prohibited pursuant to any federal law, contract with a federal government entity, or general law of Florida.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: kellyitjobs@comcast.net <kellyitjobs@comcast.net>
Sent: Tuesday, March 26, 2019 12:43 AM
To: 'trevor.r.ocock@disney.com' <trevor.r.ocock@disney.com>
Subject: You made a mistake in a meeting for us bus drivers

You said we can’t, but the law is clear that we can bring our guns in our own personal car, leaving it in it locked away (trunk, locking glove box) if we have the carry permit.  You had a bus driver meetings in the past and this law is something I thought we had in Florida, but until I went home, talked to my brother did I realize you made a big mistake.  I have been bringing my gun in my car ever since I came back from vacation.

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0700-0799/0790/Sections/0790.251.html

Date   Apr 17, 2008

Florida Governor Charlie Crist has signed the “bring your guns to work” bill, which makes it illegal for public and private employers to have policies prohibiting firearms on their private property.

Florida Governor Charlie Crist has signed the “bring your guns to work” bill, which makes it illegal for public and private employers to have policies prohibiting firearms on their private property. Specifically, the law permits employees who have concealed weapons permits to keep firearms locked in their vehicles on company property. Additionally, the law permits customers or other “invitees” of a business to have firearms locked in their vehicles in the business’ parking lot, regardless of whether they have a concealed weapons permit.

Under the law, which takes effect July 1, 2008, employers may not:

Prohibit employees, customers, or invitees from keeping a firearm locked in their vehicle on company property;

Ask an employee, customer, or invitee about the presence of a firearm in the person’s vehicle on company property;

Search a vehicle on company property to ascertain the presence of a firearm in the vehicle (the law provides that a search of a vehicle to ascertain the presence of a firearm may only be conducted by on-duty law enforcement personnel, based upon due process and must comply with constitutional protections);

Take any action against an employee, customer or invitee based on statements concerning the presence of a firearm in a vehicle on company property;

Condition employment on whether an individual holds a concealed weapons permit;

Condition employment on an agreement that prohibits the employee from keeping a firearm locked in a vehicle on company property;

Prohibit employees, customers or invitees from entering the company parking lot if the person’s vehicle contains a firearm that is out of sight in the vehicle.

Additionally, the law prohibits employers from terminating or otherwise discriminating against an employee or expelling a customer or invitee “for exercising his or her constitutional right to keep and bear arms or for exercising the right of self-defense as long as a firearm is never exhibited on company property for any reason other than lawful defensive purposes.”

 

Exceptions: The law does not apply to:

Schools;

Correctional institutions;

Nuclear power plants;

Property upon which substantial activities involving national defense, aerospace, or homeland security are conducted;

 

Property upon which the primary business conducted is the manufacture, use, storage, or transportation of combustible or explosive materials regulated under state or federal law, or importing, manufacturing, or dealing in explosive materials;

 

A motor vehicle owned, leased, or rented by a public or private employer or the landlord of a public or private employer;

Property upon which possession of a firearm or other legal product by a customer, employee, or invitee is prohibited pursuant to any federal law, contract with a federal government entity, or general law of Florida.

 

Enforcement: 

An individual “aggrieved under this act” may bring a civil action for violation of rights protected by the act. If this action is successful, the individual may recover “all reasonable personal costs and losses suffered” as a result of the violation of rights under the act. The law also permits the prevailing party in a civil action under the law to recover court costs and attorney fees.

Additionally, the Attorney General is charged with enforcement of the law. If there is reasonable cause to believe that an individual’s rights under the act have been violated, the Attorney General may bring a civil or administrative action for damages, injunctive relief and civil penalties, and such other relief as may be appropriate.

Updated:

U.S. District Judge Robert Hinkle ruled that employers cannot ban employees from taking their gun to work, but may ban customers and other visitors.

 

List of Walt Disney World managers email addresses created 04/28/2018 that you can contact about this illegal policy.  Make sure you keep any and all contact professional, polite but firm that they can't break the law forcing employees to not bring their gun in their car in the parking lots (that guests can also park near/in).

MK
Chandler, Eric A. <Eric.A.Chandler@disney.com>; Cooper, James <James.Cooper@disney.com>; Gerstenberger, Jennifer M. <Jennifer.M.Gerstenberger@disney.com>; Kotulak, Rick <Rick.Kotulak@disney.com>;  Mcdonald, Frank <Frank.Mcdonald@disney.com>; Merideth, Johanna M <Johanna.M.Merideth@disney.com>;  Muller, Steve <Steve.Muller@disney.com>;  Pawlowski, Matthew <Matthew.Pawlowski@disney.com>; Rice, Diana A <Diana.A.Rice@disney.com>; Riggs, Asa <Asa.Riggs@disney.com>; Sagan, John R. <John.R.Sagan@disney.com>; Yunker, H E <HX.E.Yunker@disney.com>



Springs

Bailar, Toby E. <Toby.E.Bailar@disney.com>; Coleman, Sharon A <Sharon.A.Coleman@disney.com>; Dell, Scott J. <Scott.J.Dell@disney.com>; Dilts, Patrick <Patrick.Dilts@disney.com>; Foster, Chris <Chris.Foster@disney.com>; Lee, Calvin L. <Calvin.L.Lee@disney.com>; Macaulay, Sean M. <Sean.M.Macaulay@disney.com>; Monroe, Vicki V. <Elisha.Monroe@disney.com>;  Perry, Susan C <Susan.C.Perry@disney.com>; Richardson, Thomas T. <Thomas.T.Richardson@disney.com>; Smith, Joseph D. <Joseph.D.Smith@disney.com>;  Solorzano, Michael A. <Michael.A.Solorzano@disney.com>; Whitney, Matthew D. <Matthew.D.Whitney@disney.com>

 

EC

Aprile, Salvatore J. <Salvatore.J.Aprile@disney.com>; Birch, Jerry T <Jerry.Birch@disney.com>; Crudup, KRIS <KRIS.Crudup@disney.com>; Emery, Matthew J <Matthew.J.Emery@disney.com>; Heilig, Jacob M. <Jacob.M.Heilig@disney.com>; McNally, Randall S <Randall.S.McNally@disney.com>;  Nosari, David <David.Nosari@disney.com>; Perry, Susan C <Susan.C.Perry@disney.com>; Welton, Bob <Robert.D.Welton@disney.com>;  Wesolowski, Bruce J. <Bruce.J.Wesolowski@disney.com

 

AK / ST

Bacuyag, Danielle R. <Danielle.R.Bacuyag@disney.com>; Bonhagen, Kris <Kris.Bonhagen@disney.com>; Boyd, Heather <Heather.Boyd@disney.com>; Carter, Jonathan A. <Jonathan.A.Carter@disney.com>; Dolan, Michael J <Michael.J.Dolan@disney.com>; Freeman, Walter L <Walter.L.Freeman@disney.com>;  Kerr, Linda S. <Linda.S.Kerr@disney.com>; Knorr, Michael J. <Michael.J.Knorr@disney.com>; Mendyk, Richard R. <Richard.R.Mendyk@disney.com>; Merideth, Johanna M <Johanna.M.Merideth@disney.com>; Muken, Brad H. <Brad.H.Muken@disney.com>;  PilkinLittle, Shawn D. <Shawn.D.PilkinLittle@disney.com>; Ruiz, Luis F <Luis.F.Ruiz@disney.com>; Sheppard, Richard A. II <Richard.A.Sheppard@disney.com>; Toombs, Ron S. <Ron.S.Toombs@disney.com>;  Ward, Cory L <Cory.L.Ward@disney.com>

 

ddddddddddddddddddddd 
  

ddddddddddddddddddddd